Keeping Safe in Dangerous Times

Keeping safe in Dangerous times

2Ti 3:1 “This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.”

You may live in a dangerous city. You may have to travel through dangerous places. Here are some practical suggestions that could help you. I have spent 10 years working in Tijuana, Mexico, and ten years in Brazil. I have learned a few things. Maybe this will help.

Psalm 91:1 “He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

4 He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6 Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7 A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.”

1. Trusting in God and asking Him to keep you safe is the Christians ultimate protection. The Holy Spirit knows where there is plague, or where a terrorist incident will occur, or where there are thieves, or where there will be a car accident. He can always be trusted. He is God.

This does not mean bad things will never happen to you, but He usually will keep you from harm. A missionary was recently killed in a terrorist attack in Burkina Faso. Sometimes it is the will of God when bad things happen. Joseph was sold as a slave. Our Lord was crucified.

I was once soul winning down a street in Tijuana, Mexico. I became aware of a man standing in the street, with a shot gun held against his leg. He was a security guard for a drug trafficker probably. yikes ! I have been in the Favelas of Brazil, where armed policeman and drug dealers often have shoot outs. I once walked deep into Favela Rochina, Evangelizing. I looked down at this man sitting on a wall. He had a pistol laying by a back pack. Both times I just kept my cool and went the other way. Pray and ask for God’s guidance and protection, every day, and often during the day.

2. Don’t make displays of wealth. In Venezuela, they will rob you of your cell phone if you pull one out. They are desperate. We will see things quickly degenerate into much more “perilous times” I am afraid to say. I carry only what I am willing to lose. I have a cheap $20 throwaway cell phone. I leave the i Phone hidden, back at the house. I only take a little cash. I leave the debit card back at home, and only take it on my person when i have to go to an ATM machine.

When confronted by a robber, meekly do what he says. A professional Jiujitsu expert in Rio de Janeiro was robbed on the bus for the third time. He decided to fight, to resist. He was an expert, and he was shot in the head and killed! Do what they ask. A friend was preparing to ship his “goods” to a foreign country and start as a missionary. I sent him an e-mail suggesting he buy what he needed in the host country. You don’t need to take everything. He ended up paying thousands of dollars of extra fees. Then the neighbors tried to break in and rob his house when his family went to church Well, they have nothing. They had watched the “rich Gringo” unload the container, piece by piece and take it into his house. “Make no provision for the flesh”. I try not to show off my i Phone, or my computer, etc. If they do not know you have it, they will not be tempted to steal it.

3. Get a Dog if you can. This missionary who had an attempted break in wisely went and purchased a big dog. Don’t make it easy.

4. When you are traveling from the airport to your hotel/house, you are at your most vulnerable time. When I arrive in Brazil, and get in a Taxi, I have all my cash, travel documents, computer, phones, Baggage, with me. In on place. To be safe you must pray a lot. Simple. I beg God to guide and protect daily, several months in advance. Pray, pray pray. I once was on deputation traveling in my camper on a lonely highway in Arizona. I pulled off to find a place to rest. I parked and jumped out. Immediately, two men pulled up, there headlights glaring in my eyes, then, suddenly, dashed off in a car. They were planning something bad. Did God make them see a Big Angel, or what, I don’t know. But they never bothered me.

5. I arrived at what is almost the biggest bus station in the world, called “Tete” in Sao Paulo , Brazil. After two flights , I was tired. I had two big luggage bags, weighing 70 pounds each, one computer bag, and one back pack. (You should have seen me try to get in a bathroom).

I sat down (noticing all the strange eyes watching me) and wrapped the straps to my baggage between y legs, so if I fell asleep, I would feel it if someone attempted to take my bags.

Look, don’t pull out a big wad of money you have to count it to see how much you have in front of everyone. Be discreet, Be wise, and trust God and pray.

There are many other things you can do, but these were a few that might help you think about your situation, and where you live.

Evangelist Steve Morris

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

