Is the Bible “Just another book”, Was Jesus “Just another man”?

The Bible is “Just a book”?

Jesus was “Just a man”?

During a recent conversation with a young man, he said “The bible is just a book, and Jesus was just a man.” This is blasphemy, and I will tell you why.

Fulfilled prophecy proves a Divine author wrote the bible. 2Timothy 3:16 “All scripture is given by inspiration of God,..”

Of course I realize that for a scorner, know matter how much evidence I present to them, they will not change their minds. A scorner receiveth not instruction. So, this is for the inquiring mind that wants to learn truth, and is open.

There are about 1,817 prophetic utterances in the bible. They have been coming true for over 6000 years, one hundred percent of the time, letter for letter, every time. Who can write human history , thousands of years in advance and be one hundred percent accurate? Only God knows the end from the beginning.

Over 40 different authors wrote this amazing book, over a period of 1500 years, in three different languages, yet it is a perfect unit, and has never been proven to have even one mistake. Amazing. Man can not do that.

The entire history of the Jewish nation was predicted. Moses and the prophets predicted that God would judge their idolatry and sin when they strayed from keeping His commandments, and they would at first be taken captive to the invading nation, and ultimately dispersed for many years throughout the world. They were at first invaded by Babylon, and after being repatriated, eventually invaded and dispersed, throughout the world. And amazingly, became a nation in one day as predicted, in May 1948.

(Isa 66:8  Who hath heard such a thing? who hath seen such things? Shall the earth be made to bring forth in one day? or shall a nation be born at once? for as soon as Zion travailed, she brought forth her children.)

May I submit to you something amazing. Did you know that the day Jesus was crucified there were 29 Prophecies fulfilled in One 24 hour period !

The following 29 prophecies from the Old Testament, speak of the
betrayel, trial, death and burial of our Lord Jesus Christ, were spoken
of various times by many different voices during the 5 centuries from
1000-500 B.C., and yet all of them were literally fulfilled in Jesus in
one 24 hour period.
He would be betrayed by friends.
Prophecy: Psalms 41:9- “Yea, mine own familiar friend, in whom I
trusted, which did eat of my bread, hath lifted up his heel against me.
Psalm 55:12- “ For it was not an enemy that reproached me; then I
could have borne it: neither was it he that hated me that did magnify
himself against me; then I would have hid myself from him: 13 But it
was thou, a man mine equal, my guide, and mine acquaintance. 14
We took sweet counsel together, and walked unto the house of God
in company.”
He would be sold for 30 pieces of silver.
Prophecy: Zechariah 11:12- “And I said unto them, If ye think good,
give me my price; and if not, forbear. So they weighed for my price
thirty pieces of silver.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 26:15- “And said unto them, What will ye give me,
and I will deliver him unto you? And they covenanted with him for
thirty pieces of silver.”
Money to be thrown in God’s House.
Prophecy: Zechariah 11:13b- “…And I took the thirty pieces of silver,
and cast them to the potter in the house of the LORD.”
Fulfillment: Matthew 27:5a- “And he cast down the pieces of silver in
the temple,”
Price given to buy a potters field.
Prophecy: Zechariah 11:13b- “And I took the thirty pieces of silver,
and cast them to the potter in the house of the LORD.”
Fulfillment: Matthew 27:7- “And they took counsel, and bought with
them the potter’s field, to bury strangers in.”
In the previous four prophecies we find in both prophecy and
fulfillment the following.
1. Betrayed
2. By a friend.
3. For 30 pieces (not 29)
4. Of silver (not gold)
5. Thrown down (not placed)
6. In the House of the Lord
7. Money used to buy potter’s field.
Forsaken by disciples.
Prophecy: Zehariah 13:7- “Awake, O sword, against my shepherd,
and against the man that is my fellow, saith the LORD of hosts: smite
the shepherd, and the sheep shall be scattered:”
Fulfilled: Mark 14:50- “And they all forsook him, and fled.” Matthew
26:31- “Then saith Jesus unto them, All ye shall be offended because
of me this night: for it is written, I will smite the shepherd, and the
sheep of the flock shall be scattered abroad.”
Accused by false witnesses,
Prophecy: Psalms 35:11- “False witnesses did rise up; they laid to my
charge things that I knew not.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 26:59- “ Now the chief priests, and elders, and all
the council, sought false witness against Jesus, to put him to death;
60 But found none: yea, though many false witnesses came, yet
found they none. At the last came two false witnesses,
61 And said, This fellow said, I am able to destroy the temple of God,
and to build it in three days.”
Dumb before accusers.
Prophecy: Isaiah 53:7- “He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet
he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter,
and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his
mouth.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:12- “And when he was accused of the chief
priests and elders, he answered nothing. 13 Then said Pilate unto
him, Hearest thou not how many things they witness against thee? 14
And he answered him to never a word; insomuch that the governor
marvelled greatly.”
Wounded and bruised.
Prophesy: Isaiah 53:5- “But he was wounded for our transgressions,
he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was
upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” Zechariah 13:6- “And
one shall say unto him, What are these wounds in thine hands? Then
he shall answer, Those with which I was wounded in the house of my
friends.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:26- “Then released he Barabbas unto them:
and when he had scourged Jesus, he delivered him to be crucified.”
Smitten and spit upon.
Prophecy: Isaiah 50:6- “I gave my back to the smiters, and my
cheeks to them that plucked off the hair: I hid not my face from
shame and spitting.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 26:67- “ Then did they spit in his face, and buffeted
him; and others smote him with the palms of their hands,…”
Mocked.
Prophecy: Psalms 22:7- “All they that see me laugh me to scorn: they
shoot out the lip, they shake the head, saying, 8 He trusted on the
LORD that he would deliver him: let him deliver him, seeing he
delighted in him.”
Fulfillment: Matthew 27:31- “And after that they had mocked him, they
took the robe off from him, and put his own raiment on him, and led
him away to crucify him.”
Fell under the cross.
Prophecy: Psalms 109:24- “My knees are weak through fasting; and
my flesh faileth of fatness. 25 I became also a reproach unto them:
when they looked upon me they shaked their heads”
Fulfilled: John 19:17- “And he bearing his cross went forth into a
place called the place of a skull, which is called in the Hebrew
Golgotha:” Luke 23:26- “And as they led him away, they laid hold
upon one Simon, a Cyrenian, coming out of the country, and on him
they laid the cross, that he might bear it after Jesus.”
Hands and feet pierced.
Prophecy: Psalms 22:16- “For dogs have compassed me: the
assembly of the wicked have inclosed me: they pierced my hands
and my feet.” Zechariah 12:10 – “And I will pour upon the house of
David, and upon the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the spirit of grace and
of supplications: and they shall look upon me whom they have
pierced, and they shall mourn for him, as one mourneth for his only
son, and shall be in bitterness for him, as one that is in bitterness for
his firstborn.”
Fulfilled: Luke 23:33- “And when they were come to the place, which
is called Calvary, there they crucified him, and the malefactors, one
on the right hand, and the other on the left.” John 20:25- “The other
disciples therefore said unto him, We have seen the Lord. But he said
unto them, Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and
put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into his
side, I will not believe.”
Crucified with thieves.
Prophecy: Isaiah 53:12- “Therefore will I divide him a portion with the
great, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong; because he hath
poured out his soul unto death: and he was numbered with the
transgressors; and he bare the sin of many, and made intercession
for the transgressors.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:38- “Then were there two thieves crucified with
him, one on the right hand, and another on the left.”
Note: Crucifixion was a Roman punishment, it was unknown in
Jewish law. The type of death pictured in Isaiah 53, and Psalm 22
did not come into practice under the Jewish system until hundreds of
years after the account was written.
Made Intercession for His persecutors.
Prophecy: “…and he was numbered with the transgressors; and he
bare the sin of many, and made intercession for the transgressors.”
Fulfilled: Luke 23:34- “Then said Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they
know not what they do.” Can we, as selfish sinners, imagine such
perfect love? He was spit upon, beaten mocked, and being slowly
tortured to death, yet He asked for His enemies to be forgiven. Such
love!
Rejected by His own people.
Prophecy: Isaiah 53:3- “He is despised and rejected of men; a man
of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces
from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.”
Fulfilled: John 7:5- “For neither did his brethren believe in him.” & 48-
“Have any of the rulers or of the Pharisees believed on him?” John
1:11- “He came unto his own, and his own received him not.”
Hated without a cause.
Prophecy: Psalms 69:4- “They that hate me without a cause are more
than the hairs of mine head:…” Isaiah 49:7- “Thus saith the LORD,
the Redeemer of Israel, and his Holy One, to him whom man
despiseth, to him whom the nation abhorreth, to a servant of rulers,…”
Fulfilled: John 15:25- “But this cometh to pass, that the word might be
fulfilled that is written in their law, They hated me without a cause.”
Friends stood far off.
Prophecy: Psalms 38:11- “My lovers and my friends stand aloof from
my sore; and my kinsmen stand afar off.”
Fulfilled: Luke 23:49- “And all his acquaintance, and the women that
followed him from Galilee, stood afar off, beholding these things.”
People shook their heads.
Prophecy: Psalms 109:25- “I became also a reproach unto them:
when they looked upon me they shaked their heads.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:39- “And they that passed by reviled him,
wagging their heads,”
Stared upon.
Prophecy: Psalms 22:17- “I may tell all my bones: they look and stare
upon me.”
Fulfilled: Luke 23:35- “And the people stood beholding….”
Garments parted and lots cast.
Prophecy: Psalms 22:18- “They part my garments among them, and
cast lots upon my vesture.”
Fulfilled: John 19: 23- “ Then the soldiers, when they had crucified
Jesus, took his garments, and made four parts, to every soldier a
part; and also his coat: now the coat was without seam, woven from
the top throughout. They said therefore among themselves, Let us not rend it, but cast lots for it, whose it shall be: that the scripture might be fulfilled,

which saith, They parted my raiment among them, and for my vesture
they did cast lots. These things therefore the soldiers did.”
To suffer thirst:
Prophecy: Psalms 69:21- “They gave me also gall for my meat; and
in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.” Psalms 22:15- “My
strength is dried up like a potsherd; and my tongue cleaveth to my
jaws; and thou hast brought me into the dust of death.”
Fulfilled: John 19:28- “ After this, Jesus knowing that all things were
now accomplished, that the scripture might be fulfilled, saith, I thirst.”
Gall and vinegar offered Him.
Prophecy: Psalms 69:21- “They gave me also gall for my meat; and
in my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:34- “They gave him vinegar to drink mingled
with gall: and when he had tasted thereof, he would not drink.”
His forsaken cry.
Prophecy: Psalm 221a- “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken
me?…”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:46- “And about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a
loud voice, saying, Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani? that is to say, My God,
my God, why hast thou forsaken me?”
Committed Himself to God.
Prophecy: Psalms 31:5- “Into thine hand I commit my spirit: thou hast
redeemed me, O LORD God of truth.”
Fulfilled: Luke 23:46- “And when Jesus had cried with a loud voice,
he said, Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit: and having said
thus, he gave up the ghost.”
Bones not broken.
Prophecy: Psalms 34:20- “He keepeth all his bones: not one of them
is broken.”
Fulfilled: John 19:32- “Then came the soldiers, and brake the legs of
the first, and of the other which was crucified with him.
33 But when they came to Jesus, and saw that he was dead already,
they brake not his legs:”
Note: Jesus was also the fulfillment of all the symbolical ordinances
as laid down through Moses in the pass-over lamb. There was not a
bone to be broken. It was roasted (not sodden, he bore the wrath
(fire) of God against sin.) The pass-over lamb was to be eaten at one
time, not left for tomorrow, Jesus was not left to hang on the cross. It
was a male lamb, it was to be spotless, Jesus was sinless. etc.
There are two other prophecies also fulfilled concerning His bones.
Psalms 22:14 speaks of ALL His bones being out of joint, crucifiction
does this, and Psalms 22:17 says “they can tell all His bones” (as He
hung on the cross).
Stop!! Think!! How infinite and infallible is our God, past figuring out.
Who can know Him. These scriptures written, in some cases,
thousands of years in advance, tell of a coming Savior, the Messiah
of the Jews. Throughout the centuries, scribes and students of the
Word waited for a person who would be “of the seed of a woman,
born of a virgin, descended from Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, of the tribe
of Judah, descendent of King David, born in Bethlehem.” He had to
be preceded by “the voice crying in the desert (John the Baptist) He
had to teach in parables, He had to do miracles, and at the grand
conclusion of His life, we are now studying 29 prophecies fulfilled in
one 24 hour period. It is like watching a video of a future event that
has not happened yet. God writes things that have not yet come to
pass, as if they have already happened. An invisible God, in control
of everything. Genetic family lineage, language, etc. Even down to
soldiers gambling for your clothes, all foretold. Only a very proud and
spiritually blind person could deny the reality of God and deny the
inspiration , and preservation of His perfect Word.
Heart broken.
Prophecy: Psalm 22:14- “I am poured out like water, and all my
bones are out of joint: my heart is like wax; it is melted in the midst of
my bowels.”
Fulfilled: John 19:34- “ But one of the soldiers with a spear pierced
his side, and forthwith came there out blood and water.”
The blood and water which came out from His pierced side are
evidence that the heart had literally burst.
His side pierced.
Prophecy: Zechariah 12:10- “And I will pour upon the house of
David, and upon the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the spirit of grace and
of supplications: and they shall look upon me whom they have
pierced, and they shall mourn for him, as one mourneth for his only
son, and shall be in bitterness for him, as one that is in bitterness for
his firstborn.”
Fulfilled: John 19:34- “But one of the soldiers with a spear pierced his
side, and forthwith came there out blood and water.”
Darkness over the land.
Prophecy: Amos 8:9- “And it shall come to pass in that day, saith the
Lord GOD, that I will cause the sun to go down at noon, and I will
darken the earth in the clear day:”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:45- “Now from the sixth hour there was
darkness over all the land unto the ninth hour.”
Buried in rich man’s tomb.
Prophecy: Isaiah 53:9- “And he made his grave with the wicked, and
with the rich in his death; because he had done no violence, neither
was any deceit in his mouth.”
Fulfilled: Matthew 27:57- “When the even was come, there came a
rich man of Arimathea, named Joseph, who also himself was Jesus’
disciple:
58 He went to Pilate, and begged the body of Jesus. Then Pilate
commanded the body to be delivered. 59 And when Joseph had
taken the body, he wrapped it in a clean linen cloth, 60 And laid it in
his own new tomb, which he had hewn out in the rock: and he rolled a
great stone to the door of the sepulchre, and departed.”
There we have it, Jesus Christ of Nazareth, Lord, King, High Priest,
Savior, and Messiah of the Jews and the world. Amen, even so
come Lord Jesus.

This is only a small part of 1,817 prophecies in all! Only 29 of them, BUT they were fulfilled ALL of them, in one 24 hour period.

We could say the Bible is the only book that has changed Billions of lives. The Bible and its truths and wisdom has guided Kings, rebuked sin, taught us who God is, taught us what we are. It is the mind of God. No other book is like it. None!!

This young man, in his words and actions, hates the bible. He can not get a job, and is close to living on the street. Look what God says He will do to those who despise Hos Word.

Proverbs 13:13 ” Whoso despiseth the word shall be destroyed: but he that feareth the commandment shall be rewarded.”

The Words of the Bible will judge you ,

or

save you from judgment.

One or the other.

What will it be for you?

Who was Jesus?

Now we will prove that Jesus Christ of Nazareth was more than just a ma.

1.  His lineage, place of birth, time of birth, and so many other things were precicted hundreds of years in advance. He fulfilled over 300 specific prophecies in his life time.

He had to be descended from Abraham, through Isaaac, through Jacob, through the family of David, and be of the tribe of Judah. He had to be born in Bethlehem. (Micah 5:2  But thou, Bethlehem Ephratah, though thou be little among the thousands of Judah, yet out of thee shall he come forth unto me that is to be ruler in Israel; whose goings forth have been from of old, from everlasting.) this prophecy further sheds light on who Jesus was. His “goings forth of old, from everlasting. He was eternal. He was God in the Flesh! The verse we use at Christmas time also sheds further light on this fact. Isaiah 9:6  “For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” We call Hum the Prince of Peace, and He is. he is the child to be born, the only begotten of the God the Father. But He is also called The Mighty God, and The everlasting Father. How can anyone explain that. He is Almighty God! The maji or wise men who followed His star knew it was time for His birth. He claimed to have power to forgive sins. Mt 9:6  But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power on earth to forgive sins, (then saith he to the sick of the palsy,) Arise, take up thy bed, and go unto thine house. Mark 2:7 Why doth this man thus speak blasphemies? who can forgive sins but God only? Luke 5:21 And the scribes and the Pharisees began to reason, saying, Who is this which speaketh blasphemies? Who can forgive sins, but God alone?

To those who claim He never claimed to be God, this is a rebutal.

He spoke like no other man. He was the world’s greatest preacher. Who does not know of the Sermon in the Mount. He healed multitudes of all manner of infirmities, from leprosy, dropsy, blindness, etc. He raised the dead! Luke 7:11 ” And it came to pass the day after, that he went into a city called Nain; and many of his disciples went with him, and much people.12 Now when he came nigh to the gate of the city, behold, there was a dead man carried out, the only son of his mother, and she was a widow: and much people of the city was with her.13 And when the Lord saw her, he had compassion on her, and said unto her, Weep not.14 And he came and touched the bier: and they that bare him stood still. And he said, Young man, I say unto thee, Arise.15 And he that was dead sat up, and began to speak. And he delivered him to his mother.” Did any other founder of any religion EVER do these things? He claimed to be laying down His life, and freely giving His blood as a sacrifice, an atonement that was so valuable it would pay for all the sins ever committed in all the world. Matthew 26:28  “For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins.” He lived a perfectly sinless life, which no man has ever done. Even His enemies could find no fault in Him. John 8:46  “Which of you convinceth me of sin? And if I say the truth, why do ye not believe me?” He was put to death for claiming to be equal with God, The Son of God. Matthew 26:63 But Jesus held his peace. And the high priest answered and said unto him, I adjure thee by the living God, that thou tell us whether thou be the Christ, the Son of God.64 Jesus saith unto him, Thou hast said: nevertheless I say unto you, Hereafter shall ye see the Son of man sitting on the right hand of power, and coming in the clouds of heaven.65 Then the high priest rent his clothes, saying, He hath spoken blasphemy; what further need have we of witnesses? behold, now ye have heard his blasphemy. 66 What think ye? They answered and said, He is guilty of death.” He arose from the dead. !! Mark 16:6  “And he saith unto them, Be not affrighted: Ye seek Jesus of Nazareth, which was crucified: he is risen; he is not here: behold the place where they laid him.”

He humbled Himself greatly, being the Holy One of Israel that Isaiah saw on the throne in Isaian chapter 6,

(Isaiah 6:1 “In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. 2 Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly. 3 And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is the LORD of hosts: the whole earth is full of his glory. 4 And the posts of the door moved at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke. 5 Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” Even the demons knew He was “The Holy One of Israel” Mark 1:23 “And there was in their synagogue a man with an unclean spirit; and he cried out, 24  Saying, Let us alone; what have we to do with thee, thou Jesus of Nazareth? art thou come to destroy us? I know thee who thou art, the Holy One of God.” )

to becoming a baby born in a manger, living in poverty most of His life. He showed the greatest Love ever, forgiving all of all sins who just ask for mercy. He forgave those who put Him to death. Luke 23:34  “Then said Jesus, Father, forgive them; for they know not what they do.”

He loved to call Himself by the title “Son of man”. This is the title of Deity used in the Old Testament about the coming Christ, the Messiah.  Daniel 7:13 ” I saw in the night visions, and, behold, one like the Son of man came with the clouds of heaven, and came to the Ancient of days, and they brought him near before him.”

Look how many times Jesus applies this title to Himself, just in one book of the Bible.

Mt 20:18 “Behold, we go up to Jerusalem; and the Son of man shall be betrayed unto the chief priests and unto the scribes, and they shall condemn him to death,
Mt 20:28 Even as the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many.
Mt 24:27 For as the lightning cometh out of the east, and shineth even unto the west; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.
Mt 24:30 And then shall appear the sign of the Son of man in heaven: and then shall all the tribes of the earth mourn, and they shall see the Son of man coming in the clouds of heaven with power and great glory.
Mt 24:37 But as the days of Noe were, so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.
Mt 24:39 And knew not until the flood came, and took them all away; so shall also the coming of the Son of man be.
Mt 24:44 Therefore be ye also ready: for in such an hour as ye think not the Son of man cometh.
Mt 25:13 Watch therefore, for ye know neither the day nor the hour wherein the Son of man cometh.
Mt 25:31 When the Son of man shall come in his glory, and all the holy angels with him, then shall he sit upon the throne of his glory:
Mt 26:2 Ye know that after two days is the feast of the passover, and the Son of man is betrayed to be crucified.
Mt 26:24 The Son of man goeth as it is written of him: but woe unto that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! it had been good for that man if he had not been born.
Mt 26:45 Then cometh he to his disciples, and saith unto them, Sleep on now, and take your rest: behold, the hour is at hand, and the Son of man is betrayed into the hands of sinners.
Mt 26:64 Jesus saith unto him, Thou hast said: nevertheless I say unto you, Hereafter shall ye see the Son of man sitting on the right hand of power, and coming in the clouds of heaven.”

When Jesus replied to the question of the High Priest, with this last verse, The High Priest understood Jesus was claiming to be Almighty God. He ripped his vestments as a sign that he thought blasphemy had just been spoken.

He is and was the creator of all things. John 1:1  “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.2 The same was in the beginning with God.3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.”

Every knee will bow to Him and confess He is Lord. He will be your Savior, or the judge that condemns you to Hell. Philippians 2:10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Yes he was also a man. he was tempted in all things, as we are. He thirsted. He was hungry. He was lonely. He was tired. He slept in the park (the Mount of Olives) He walked everywhere he went.

But Jesus was just a man. Impossible!! You are blind if you think that.

Is He your Savior?

Is He your Lord?

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

