Music

Music

Exodus 32:17 “And when Joshua heard the noise of the people as they shouted, he said unto Moses, There is a noise of war in the camp.18 And he said, It is not the voice of them that shout for mastery, neither is it the voice of them that cry for being overcome: but the noise of them that sing do I hear.”

Moses, with his servant Joshua were coming down out of the mount, where God had just given him the 10 commandments. They heard a noise, and Joshua thought it was the sound of war. Moses, said no, they are signing. This was the first rock concert . It was a lots of noise, not music that pleases God. I grew up in the 70’s and listened to all the rock groups of that time. Last night, I visited a church, and the music was with an electric guitar, that took me back to memories of days when I was without Christ. That is not the purpose of hymn signing in the church. The music should take you to thoughts of a righteous Holy God, not to memories of the time you were lost. I heard that many people nowadays choose a church on the type of music they perform. How sad. The purpose is to glorify God, who cares what the people want, what does God want? Worldly musicians, who live ungodly lives, mimicking the lost world will never change a lost sinner and convince him he needs God.

The scriptures say they melody is what is important.

Ephesians 5:19 “Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord;”

I live across the valley from a church that I can hear “start up” on Sunday. The “praise service”, which is nothing that praises God, but pleases the worldly people. It is so loud, and sounds exactly like a worldly rock concert. I feel like apologizing to my neighbors. The words may pretend to be Christian, but the music , the sound is wicked.

Again I ask,

Is what we do in church meant to please the Lord, is it His church? Or is it just entertainment for the worldly mob of questionable Christians.

Who are you trying to please?

I was once working as a custodian for a school district. Their were skateboarders tearing up the benches and tables by skating across them. The principal asked me if I could get them to leave. I took my cassette player, put in the John Marshall Family signing Hymns of the faith. Pushed play and all the kids left in 5 minutes. Why. Music is powerful. Those lost rebels did not want to hear about God.

The devil uses it to bind souls to the world.

The Lord uses it to fill the soul with joy and peace.

I looked at a visitor that sat there listening grimacing as the musician stroked their electric guitar at a service I attended, and felt sad, that he has never heard what I have. Good spiritual music should convict lost people that they are living wrong, and need a Savior. If it sounds the same as the honky tonk they frequent, or the concert they go to, why should they repent. There is no difference.

Music in church:

Should make you humble.

Reverent.

Repentant.

Yielded

Convict you f sin.

Tearful

Joyful

Peaceful.

Evangelist Steve Morris

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Music

  1. pop1414 says:

    Reblogged this on popmozzer and commented:
    The devil uses it to bind souls to the world.

Leave a Reply

