Prayer

Prayer

What is prayer?

Prayer is asking and receiving.

Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: 8 For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.9 Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone?

10 Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent?

11 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”

Here Jesus shows us that God delights in answering specific prayers for His children.

If you have enough faith to pray, ye will receive according to:

Your persistance:

Luke 18:1- “And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint; 2 Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man:

3 And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary.

4 And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man; 5 Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me. 6 And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge saith.

7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them? 8 I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?”

Several times we are taught to keep praying in faith, even though the answer has not come yet. Some prayers, I have received answers immediately, some prayers, 1 month, 2 years, or even more years later.

Prayer is not majic:

Prayer is not like a man rubbing a majic lamp, and getting your wishes answered by a genie. It is submitting to The Lord’s will, and asking for what He knows is best.

James 4:15 “For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.”

You can ask the Lord for a million dollars, but He will not give it to you if there is no need. I do know a Pastor that needed 2.1 million dollars for a new building, and he received that answer on the day he needed it. It would destroy most of us to receive a huge bundle of money. Paul the Apostle had “a thorn in the flesh” and asked the Lord three times to remove it. God said “No” and told him why it would not be removed. It kept him humble.

2 Cor. 12:7 “And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. 8 For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.

9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

I have an injury to my knee. I have begged God to heal it. I am an Evangelist, and I walk 4-6 miles a day evangelizing.

He has not worked a miracle and healed it. But he did lead me to a pain killing medicine to take so it would not hurt. And He also gave me an elastic knee brace that helps me walk further.

Name it and claim it?

I have written these basic principles to help correct and error in doctrine that I have run into. There are some that have a “lot of faith” and praise God for their zeal and faith in prayer, but “not according to knowledge”. You can pray for someone in a false church, whose mind is fulled with false doctrine, but they are going to take a while to work with. They may never get saved. God is answering your prayer, but not like you think. I have prayed for people for years, and seen God do things to get their attention in answer to my prayers, but they remained in unbelief, hardening their hearts. Man has been given a will, and many times he uses that will to go “against” God’s will. God is not willing that any should perish, but that all come to repentance. But a person who loves their sin, and remains hardened to the truth, and resists the Holy Spirit, can still remain unsaved after many years of tearful prayers. Keep praying. Keep trusting, Keep asking and seeking. Prayer is the greatest gift God has given us. It is the greatest tool, because prayer can do what God can do.

And God can co anything.

There is so much more that can be written about prayer.

It is so important.

Thank God for this gift.

Evangelist Steve Morris

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

