How to Witness – Part 2

The condition of the heart, of the listener and the witness.

Mt 11:15  “He that hath ears to hear, let him hear.”

 

I have already talked about being filled with the Holy Spirit, as a necessity of successful witnessing.  Jesus said “Without me ye can do nothing”.  We prove this so true every day.  I need the fullness of the Holy spirit for boldness, love, wisdom, meekness, compassion, and more.  I spend much time asking God for these things to be able to witness to people, every day.

The bible says we are not to argue with people.  2Ti 2:24  “And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,”

This is hard to do at times, especially when you are dealing with a person who believes false doctrine, like a Mormon or a Jehovah’s witness.  You know what is true, and what is not, but it’s getting the truth into the listeners heart that is your goal.   that is why Jesus said “He that hath ears to hear, let him hear.”

I just came back from witnessing to a Jewish teenager,  She ended up telling me she did not believe the Bible. Despite my quoting many fulfilled prophecies, I don’t think she really listened.  But, I left her with the truth.  The bible talks about a “FROWARD” man.  Pr 8:13  “The fear of the LORD is to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate.”

A froward man is someone who has a critical spirit, who contradicts and is hard to talk to.  A person must NOT have “a proud and arrogant spirit”.  they can not be reached with a heart like this.  That is why we are told not to0 “strive” or argue with a person with this kind of heart.

I used to argue with the cults.  I was almost violent.  I learned.

1.  I leave them a tract, and if they will listen, go as far with them as I can.

2.  If they will not listen, I found that I would get a bad spirit, and waste my time.

OK, sure.. you just took a soul winning course and you have a ll the answers.  But if there hearts are closed, you are wasting your time.  go find someone who God is working on.

That is why I pray for “Devine appointments”.  God leads me across the path of people who will accept the truth and act upon it.  Some get saved, some get closer to getting saved.  Plant the seed, water it, and sometimes, you can reap a soul.

Jesus said Lu 8:15  “But that on the good ground are they, which in an honest and good heart, having heard the word, keep it, and bring forth fruit with patience.”

We are looking for the honest and good heart that brings forth fruit. You can not help a proud arrogant person.  They do not think they need help.

If you have a burden for a person with a heart like this, pray that God will humble them.  Pray that god will save them. Many times, in answer to prayer, I have seen people’s countenance, heart, and behavior change. Write a 3×5 prayer card and pray for them every day.  I have a large pile of these.

To be continued…

 

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

