How to Witness for Jesus – Common Sense

How to Witness for Jesus Common Sense – What the Bible says
Acts 1:8  But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.
All, born again children of God are told to witness, to tell others about Jesus, and the bible way of salvation. I want people to go Heaven, and not have to go to Hell, that horrible place of confinement prepared for the devil, and his angels.  If I love Jesus, and if I care about the eternal destiny of the lost people around me, I will make this job of telling others about Jesus, the number one thing in my life.     I grew up in the military.  In 1966, I was living in Pirmesans Germany.  My dad and mom went to the base church.  In the basement, ladies of this church had a “Junior church”, church for kids.  I was 10 or 11 years old.  I remember hearing a story about John the Baptist, and I went forward to the altar.  All I remember is saying a prayer, and then I attended a baptism class.  Their was no apparent change in my life. As a teenager, living in Gardena California, I went to Sunday School and church with my mom at the Bible Baptist church.  Fast forward to 1979.  I had just gotten out of the Marine Corps.  I was living with my girlfriend Linda Montoya, sharing an apartment with her sister Mary Lou. I went to the movies, and saw a movie about Jesus.  I went again and saw a movie about prophecy by Hal Lindsey. I began to read prophecy books by Hal Lindsey.  The Late Great Planet Earth, There is a New world Coming.  While reading the third book, “The Liberation of Planet Earth”, the author invited the reader (ME) to bow their heads, and pray to receive Christ as Savior.  I did.  I was saved!  there was an immediate and big change in my life. I started attending the Bible Baptist church of Gardena, in the Los Angeles area of California, where I had gone when I was a teenager. I read the whole bible in 40 days. I immediately began going door to door, telling people how to get saved, and inviting them to church.  I left my job selling drug accessories, because it was wrong.  I had been working at Cannabisco and LA Pipe Company, selling wholesale rolling papers, cocaine cut, and things people purchased in “Head Shops”,  to use to take their drugs.  I had $3000. worth of stereo equipment I had purchased in the Philippines, and $700. worth of rock and roll albums.  I no longer even thought about these things.  I went to the Bible Baptist Church and went forward at the end of the service and asked to be baptized the following week after being saved.     Did you ever have a time in your life when you KNOW you got saved, and  your life changed.  If you just said a prayer, and there was no change , like I did in 1966, you did not get saved.  When a person gets saved…there is a dramatic and permanent change.   2 Corinthians 5:17 says .. ” Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”       I intend to write things as I read them in the bible, and promote those things that are “biblical”,  and expose things, philosophies and practices that people and churches preach about and practice, that are not biblical.
I have been going door to door, house by house, street by street for 31 years.  I have been fortunate to be a missionary in Tijuana, Mexico for 8 years, and now in Florianopolis, Brazil for almost 5 years.  I have learned many things that the Lord has showed me.
Would you let me help you become a soul winner?Proverbs11:30  The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise.
A person is wise if they are a soul winner because they value the human soul as God does.  For only the soul is eternal, forever.  Everything else passes away, or will be burned up.When Jesus left the Throne of heaven and came to the earth for 33 years, he came as a soul winner. Luke 19:10  “For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost.”
My remedy for any problem is to go out and pass out tracts. You will see people with worse problems than you have, financial nightmares, health problems, etc.  You will be happy, because you are obeying Jesus, and it is hard to go soul winning without being filled with the Holy Spirit.  When you come back, usually you will have joy!  Good deal.

DISCERNMENT
The first thing I try to find out when I approach a person is to find out where they are at spiritually.Jesus said to a man once….in Mark 12:34  “And when Jesus saw that he answered discreetly, he said unto him, Thou art not far from the kingdom of God.”  This man was close to getting saved.  Notice Jesus did not try to force him into some quick prayer.  Soul winning is planting the seed of the Word of God, watering it, watching it grow, but God must give it the increase.  Paul said.. 1Cointhiansr 3:6  “I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.”
I have been in churches where they did a 1,2,3 pray after me salesmanship kind of soul winning.  They emphasized numbers.  They came back from soul winning and said “I had 12 saved, I had 8, I had 20 saved, etc.”  That would be great if those people really got saved, but sad to say, when you approached them later, and asked them what they did, many could not tell you.  I am for getting the gospel out any way a person can.  But be careful!!
You are dealing with an eternal soul.  I have tried to deal with people who made a “profession of faith”, and never came to church, never had a change in their life, never got baptized, who show no evidence of repentance.  They may have been convinced “They are saved now, because they said a prayer.”  John the Baptist demanded “fruit unto repentance”.  Show me you got saved by your changed life.  Luke 3:8  “Bring forth therefore fruits worthy of repentance,”      I once asked a pastor who I did not know does not believe what the Bible says  about repentance. I showed him this verse. (Luke 3:8) I was still learning and just wanted to know what he thought. He had no answer.  The Bible requires two things from us in order to be saved, repentance AND faith.Acts 20:21- “Testifying both to the Jews, and also to the Greeks, repentance toward God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Two things. Some have falsely defined repentance as only turning from your unbelief.  No, if  you search the scriptures you will see that repentance is a change of heart that always produces a change in action.  Have you ever looked up ALL the verses in the bible about repentance?  With a computer and a downloaded bible, it is easy to do.  Revelation 9:20 says “And the rest of the men which were not killed by these plagues yet repented not of the works of their hands, that they should not worship devils, and idols of gold, and silver, and brass, and stone, and of wood: which neither can see, nor hear, nor walk: 21  Neither repented they of their murders, nor of their sorceries, nor of their fornication, nor of their thefts.”  This shows that repentance means to turn form your sin and forsake it “that they should NOT worship devils, and idols, etc.” It names the sins.  All the prophets boldly preached for the people to repent and forsake their sin, or God would judge them.  The problem is sin.  God is Holy, turn form it or perish.  Lets apply the definition of repentance “that repentance only means to turn from your unbelief”, and the definition that I believe is biblical, “a change of mind and heart that ALWAYS leads to a change of action.”

Look at Jonah 3:10 “And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and he did it not.”  Here, even God “repented”, He changed His mind and did not punish them, a change of action.  He could do this because it says “they turned from their evil way”!!  Now a apply the false teaching that repentance means to turn ONLY from your UNBELIEF to this verse.  Does it fit… No.

How about Jeremiah 8:6 “I hearkened and heard, but they spake not aright: no man repented him of his wickedness,…”  Well, does the definition fit?  That repentance ONLY means to turn from your UNBELIEF”?  NO. These people the Lord is speaking about did NOT “repent of their wickedness”.  Friend.. believe your bible. We seem to live at a time when some  folks who are known as “Fundamentalists” are wrong on the most fundamental doctrine there is…”repentance toward God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Christ.” Acts 20:21  Examine every word dealing with repent, repented, and repentance.. it always works the same.  Amen

For a man or woman to repent of their sins, they must first see that they are a sinner that does wrong. If someone is not willing to admit their sins they doom their selves to life without forgiveness. Repentance is a change of heart, mind, and direction in one’s daily life.  This is a simple definition of repentance.  A Pastor asked “Did they repent of ALL their sin?” mocking repentance.  You get a new wanter, you turn form sin, and do not like it anymore.  But, stopping sin does not help you to get saved.  You can do nothing to earn God’s favor.  You can stop smoking, stop drinking beer, stop lying, (but everyone’s heart still has the old sin nature, churning out sin) It  is a complete change of your life’s direction.  Sometimes a person does not want to get saved because they do know if they do, they will have to stop a certain sin they like.  Like drugs, or drinking or smoking.  Jesus said that person should be willing to stop, “cut off” anything rather than go to Hell!  Mark 9:45- “And if thy foot offend thee, cut it off: it is better for thee to enter halt into life, than having two feet to be cast into hell, into the fire that never shall be quenched:” I had a relative that would not get saved because he was a drummer in a rock band, and he knew that when my wife and I got saved, we stopped listening to the rock music. He did not want to give up thae rock lifestyle. Fortunately, he later got saved.

(And many people have been saved without being told some long theological definition of repentance and faith, the Holy Spirit worked it in their heart.)  Whenever a person has biblical repentance in their heart, they will also have faith in Christ. That is why the word repentance does not appear in the book of John.  When a person “believes on Christ” they also repented. I realize I am a guilty lawbreaker before God, I change my attitude, have a change of heart, and realize Jesus paid my sin debt once and for all with His blood atonement.Look at Zaccheus… Luke 19:1 ¶  “And Jesus entered and passed through Jericho.2  And, behold, there was a man named Zacchaeus, which was the chief among the publicans, and he was rich.3  And he sought to see Jesus who he was; and could not for the press, because he was little of stature.4  And he ran before, and climbed up into a sycomore tree to see him: for he was to pass that way.5  And when Jesus came to the place, he looked up, and saw him, and said unto him, Zacchaeus, make haste, and come down; for to day I must abide at thy house.6  And he made haste, and came down, and received him joyfully.7  And when they saw it, they all murmured, saying, That he was gone to be guest with a man that is a sinner.8  And Zacchaeus stood, and said unto the Lord; Behold, Lord, the half of my goods I give to the poor; and if I have taken any thing from any man by false accusation, I restore him fourfold.9  And Jesus said unto him, This day is salvation come to this house, forsomuch as he also is a son of Abraham.10  For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost.”Did his life change?  Yes it did!  He did Restitution.  He gave back even more than he stole.  We do not know all that he had heard before about Jesus, or all that the Lord said that night, but he turned form his old life to a new life, right?Jesus said ye have to “repent” before you can believe.  You turn around from your sinful way, and go the other way, and then you put your faith in Christ, and “believe on Him.”Matthew 21:32  For John came unto you in the way of righteousness, and ye believed him not: but the publicans and the harlots believed him: and ye, when ye had seen it, repented not afterward, that ye might believe him.”
FAITH
We read in John 1:12  “But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:”Also in John 6:29  “Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.”John 7:39  (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)John 9:35  Jesus heard that they had cast him out; and when he had found him, he said unto him, Dost thou believe on the Son of God?”Philip the Evangelist dealt with the Ethiopian Eunuch, after explaining the gospel to Him, he wanted to get baptized, and asked in Acts 8:35- “Then Philip opened his mouth, and began at the same scripture, and preached unto him Jesus.36  And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized?37  And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.38  And he commanded the chariot to stand still: and they went down both into the water, both Philip and the eunuch; and he baptized him.Faith is simply to put all your confidence, all your trust in Jesus to save your soul.     We have a cult here in Floripa Brazil that believes it is trusting Jesus, keeping the ten commandments, NO, Jesus alone kept the law for me.  Jesus + the sacraments, NO, Jesus plus getting baptized, NO.  It is trusting Jesus only to save you, forever.  Faith in His power, not in anything I can do.  I tell people “I trust HIS sacrifice, and not anything I can do.”  Remember, many people have grown up being taught that they must live a good life, get confirmed, do good deeds, get baptized , take the sacraments, join the church, take the last rites, all kinds of things, that they have lived their whole life believing, and all their family believes, and their neighbors believe, and you come along with another message about “being born again”. I know, I have dealt with people 86, 87, 104 years of age, and it is hard for them to give up what they are hoping is the right way.  Satan has deceived them.  A quick soul winning presentation for 5 minutes and a request to bow their heads and pray does not help much.  they must hear the bible over and over.  Faith cometh by hearing.  they have heard lies all their life.  I have bowed my head and prayed in front of a Catholic friend, they just stared at me.  What.. no priest in a funny uniform, what.. not praying to Mary.  Just keep getting the Word of God out.  A lady here in Florianopolis came to church for 6 months or more, she heard good bible teaching and preaching, every week.  After thinking about it for awhile, she made a definite decision, came forward and said she wanted to be saved.  I heard the truth , in a good bible preaching church , for many years, and still was not saved.  Maybe if a soul winner had dealt with me, verse by verse, I might have been saved sooner.
Sin is the problem.  At the start of the early church, Paul would go into town and start preaching on the Sabbath in a Synagogue.  these were Jews and proselytes that already knew what sin , and the law was.  They knew the prophecies about the Messiah.  Paul told them the Messiah had come, Jesus of Nazareth, and they must believe on Him.     When a soul winner deals with some people, they do not know what the ten commandments  are, often, they may have been indoctrinated into a false belief system, a Catholic, a Buddhist.. that is why I wanted to talk about discernment.    I ask a person questions to find out where his heart is at.  A very popular and almost universal question, which works for me is to ask a person:“If you were to die today, do you know 100% for sure you would go to Heaven?”  If they believe in a system of good works, then they can never know the answer to this question and answer yes.  Because, how good do the have to be, they can only hope to be good enough. If they trust the blood sacrifice Jesus made on the cross, then they can answer “Yes. I do know for sure.”
When I witness to a person, I also am trying to find out if they believe the Bible.  They can not be saved if they do not believe what you are telling them is the truth from God.  so, often, I talk about the 1,817 prophecies in the bible, that over 40 different authors, in 3 different languages, over a period of 1,500 years wrote the bible, yet the bible is one unit, there are no contradictions.  Men can not write a book like that, only god knows the future, and his predictions are 100% accurate.  I talk about the 300 or more prophecies that were fulfilled in the life of one man, Jesus Christ of Nazareth.  29 of these prophecies came 100% true in 1 day.  Our bible is an amazing book.  We will never get to the bottom of it, because it comes from the mind of an infinite all wise God.  God only wrote one book.
EXAMPLES-
There are quite a few examples which we will look at in the bible, but I would like to share some personal ones with you.
Today, I went to the bus station in Centro, Florianopolis, Brazil.  This station has 4 covered, long platforms.  196,000 people traverse through here every day.  It is very busy, and full of people.  You are not supposed to pass out tracts here, but I slowly go from seat to seat and deal with people.  After soul winning here, I went to the “Rodoviaria”, the long distance bus station.  This is huge. Maybe it has 6 different seating sections, with 40 seats in each area.  I gave a tract to every person who would take one, row by.  I start in the back, row so they do not see me coming and decide to ignore me before I get there.  As I walked outside, a nice lady I had talked briefly to on the way in was still waiting.  I stopped and talked to her a minute, and asked her where she lived.  I want her to be comfortable talking to me.  I then asked her “If you died today , do you know 100 % for sure you would go to Heaven?”  (This question is not in the bible, but for the last 40 years it has become a useful tool, a good question to determine where a person is spiritually.) She paused and thought, and said “I think so”.  I asked her why she thought that, what she was trusting in.  She said “I’m a pretty good person.” Most people think that. Now comes the hard part.  I must show her gently that she is a sinner and has violated God’s law. Most people think that when they die, there is a scale, and their good deeds will be weighed against their bad deeds and if they have more good deeds, they will go to Heaven. WRONG!  This is nowhere in the Bible. You see, we must get out the truth, as much and as often as we can.  The Devil has his lies everywhere.  He has false churches and false preachers.  I read this girl James 2:10, ( For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.) and stopped and said: “I have not killed anyone, but I have told lies, so I have transgressed. I broke God’s law.  I am no longer Holy, I am guilty of hell, just for committing one sin.”  Nowadays, most soul winners have not been trained to use the law.  The purpose of the law is to show us we are sinners.  Remember, most people do not grow up being taught the ten commandments nowadays. It is no longer in the schools, and sad to say, not taught in many churches.  This lady was charming, sweet and a little proud.  After I showed her that if you sin just one time, you and I are guilty of Hell, she said “I do not believe that… I do not believe the bible.”  OH , my, how convenient. Then I said, If God wrote the Bible, and He did, then you are saying….and I looked up to Heaven and said “God, you are a liar!”
(1John 5:10  He that believeth on the Son of God hath the witness in himself: he that believeth not God hath made him a liar; because he believeth not the record that God gave of his Son.)
Oh NO!  Then I walked away.  Now listen, all my conversations to not end like that. But now she has been confronted with the truth.  She has had a chance to hear the truth.  Discernment… find out where they are in their spiritual life.  Some are ready to get saved.  I led a man to the Lord in 5 minutes in front of the Food 4 Less supermarket in the parking lot, in Escondido, California. He told me.. “I heard that before, I have been thinking about it.”  I asked him “Do you want to pray to ask Christ to save you right now?” He said he did.  He got saved.  He was ready.  Someone planted the Word of God in his heart, someone else watered, I got to reap, but God gave the increase. You see what I mean.
Look for what kind of spirit they have.  A humble teachable spirit is what you want. If they will not listen, and want to argue, leave them the truth, a tract, and nicely say, “thank you” and go find someone who is open.  I can tell quickly if they want to talk or are in a hurry, or are interested, or not interested.
Today is Thursday. I go out all week, and then by Thursday, I am very tired and worn out from walking the streets, evangelizing.  So, tomorrow on  Friday, I take a break and stay home in the morning Friday and do computer and paper work and house chores.  It is raining a little today, so I probably will stay in Centro, where the bus stations are and go soul winning.  I look for an empty seat next someone, sit down, then hand them a tract, and say “Let me invite you to this church.”  Then I ask them where they live, and if they go to church. I tell them I am an American from San Diego, California, and they usually like to talk to me.  I read them from my pamphlet ‘How to be Saved” in Portuguese, “If you were to die today, do you know 100 % for sure that you would go to Heaven?”  Yes, No, Not sure… then I wait for them to answer.  I deal with according to what they tell me they believe.  I have to hand out tracts on the bus platforms secretly, as distributing literature is not allowed, but I hand out tracts, put them in the restrooms, and I got to witness and talk to 5 different people.  I then started walking the block and a half to the long distance bus terminal.  I have been praying for 2-3 days the Lord would guide me to some Israeli’s I could witness to.  Today I almost ran into them.  Three young men loaded down with backpacks and packs on the front.  I say, “where are you from ?”, Israel, they respond.  I have a tract I made that has the blue Israeli flag and the star of David on it, and it says “Love the Jewish People.”  It has my web site on it where there are all the Messianic promises in English.  Find the Messiah, it says.  I walk with them and try to witness to them and find out where they are going. I guide them to the correct bus stop and then I talked to one young man and tell him “Jesus is your Messiah, check out my web site.  Israel is getting ready to go through “The Time of Jacob’s trouble”, you do not want to be around. they could be part of the future 144,00 that get saved, who knows.  I had prayed for someone I could really talk to in English, for a long time.  I work my way from seat to seat, giving out Spanish tracts to the Argentine and Chilean tourists, also.  As I walked along, I asked two tourists ‘You speak English?”  They did!  One of them is from France.  I told him I lived there when I was 1 month old . until I was 3.  I then remembered a French tract I had been carrying in my backpack for just such an occasion for 6 months. I gave it to him. I found one lady waiting for the bus, with a surfboard, that speaks good English and lived in Marina Del Rey, near Los Angeles, where I went to High School.  (An answered prayer, here was my English speaker) Florianopolis is a major tourist attraction in Brasil, as you can tell.  I sat down and began to talk with her.  We had a very long conversation, where she tried to side track me to see if I was a vegetarian like she is.  I asked her if she had asked the Lord to save her before, and if her life had changed, and she said yes… but she did not know if she died where she would go.. ? All you can do is give them the scriptures.  What a blessing it was today. Despite being rather tired, God had answered several prayers, and gave me grace to witness.
Schedule
Notice, I have a schedule.  If you do not schedule your soul winning, you will stop doing it, or not be very effective. I go out about 8AM every day, from Monday thru Thursday.  I slow down and rest a little Friday, then have a big push Saturday.  I go out until after 11AM. By then , walking, I am tired.  Many times, walking up steep hills in the heat, I am exhausted.  Now I realize I am a full time Evangelist privileged to serve the Lord in this way.  Others can not go out as much.  I give out tracts every day, as I walk along, I say “Let me give you a tract form my church.  Here, this is a new tract., etc.”
I try to give EVERY PERSON at least one chance to hear the gospel. Even if they do not get saved, at the Great White throne judgment, the Lord can call me as a witness, and remind them they had a chance to get saved.  The Lord said in Matthew 22:14  “For many are called, but few are chosen.”  God uses you and I, or other means of calling people to salvation, but the Bible says few respond.  The Lord said in Matthew 7:14  “Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.”  He said in Luke 13:22 “Then said one unto him, Lord, are there few that be saved? And he said unto them,24  Strive to enter in at the strait gate: for many, I say unto you, will seek to enter in, and shall not be able.25  When once the master of the house is risen up, and hath shut to the door, and ye begin to stand without, and to knock at the door, saying, Lord, Lord, open unto us; and he shall answer and say unto you, I know you not whence ye are:26  Then shall ye begin to say, We have eaten and drunk in thy presence, and thou hast taught in our streets.27  But he shall say, I tell you, I know you not whence ye are; depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity.”  A lost person “practices” iniquity, a saved person will sin, but can not continue to “practice” or “stay” or “abide” in sin, they will repent or be chastened by the Lord. 1John 3:9  “Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.”       A saved person practices right.  Their life changed.  A lost person does not have the Holy Spirit and they practice iniquity, there has been no CHANGE in their life.1John 2:29  “If ye know that he is righteous, ye know that every one that doeth righteousness is born of him.”1John 3:7  “Little children, let no man deceive you: he that doeth righteousness is righteous, even as he is righteous.”1John 3:10 ” In this the children of God are manifest, and the children of the devil: whosoever doeth not righteousness is not of God, neither he that loveth not his brother.”We do not make good judges, but “let a man examine himself, whether he be in the faith”.  Everyone bears different amounts of fruit.  Matthew 13:8 “But other fell into good ground, and brought forth fruit, some an hundredfold, some sixtyfold, some thirtyfold.”
Here in Brazil,, I am allowed to put tracts in the mail boxes. You can not do that in the United States.  (I am God’s mailman !)
If your church has scheduled soul winning, go out with them when they go.  If you are working or another time is better, ask God to show you when is the best time for you.  Before I was a missionary, I would go out, Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and always Saturday. I think that is correct.  I realized when I skipped to many days , I lost my desire, my fire.
Chapter 2 Where, where do I witness?
Everywhere there is people!
Today, as I sat on the bus in Floripa Brazil to go to soul winning, I looked out the bus window and saw something that brings joy to my heart.  A custodian that cleans bathrooms at the bus station was leaning against the wall, reading a tract I had just left in the bathroom.  Amen. He was engrossed in it.  Tracts are one of the best ways to get the gospel out.  They are cheap.  They are patient, people read them when they have a quiet time.  Even in a country where they speak a different language, a foreigner can leave a good tract, and the message gets to their heart.  I put tracts in every bathroom, every ATM machine, in phone booths, On the house gates, in the mail boxes, where it is allowed.  In the door jam.  In the crack of the car door,  where as a person opens the car door, it is right there.  Note:  I do not put tracts under car windshield wipers.  People get in the car, and did not see them, then get angry sometimes that they have to get out to remove it from the windshield.       I was in a church where a member broke the windshield wiper, putting the tract under the wiper blade, and still left the tract… with the churches address.  No, No, don’t do that.  That is asking for an irate phone call to the Pastor.       Put a tract anywhere a human eye will see it, and a hand will pick it up, and it is not wasted.  I was once with two other brothers “on visitation”.  We were in Oklahoma, at night in the dark, and could not find an address.  I left a tract on a fence gate.  A brother in the car said “you are wasting that tract.”  The person at that house came to church because of the tract I left, and became the Pastor’s secretary. !!
HANDING OUT TRACTS
I love to start working a crowd. The most important thing I do each day is to ask God to fill me with His Holy Spirit, to give me boldness, wisdom, love, to give me a compassion for souls, I get these things through prayer.  As I start handing out tracts, I say “Here, a tract from my church, read it.”  Many here in Brazil take it , and even better , they read it.  If I come upon a bus stop, I slowly start going person to person, offering them a tract.  If they say no, I say “thanks” and go to the next person.  Often they have a long line of maybe 60 people, I just start at the front, and quietly ask, “Would you like a tract ?”Working kindly and graciously down the line.  Often they are bored, and would love something to read.
In America, it is different now.  People are a lot less receptive to the gospel.  Often they growl at me, like they are threatening me.. “I said NO!”  Closed hearts.  I have liberty when I go soul winning at the University Federal Santa Catarina in Florianopolis, Brazil.  I can do anything I want. When I tried to do that when I worked at the University of Oklahoma, security shows up very quick, and asks me to leave. America sort of let God know, “We don’t want you.”  God said “Oh, and I blessed you so much.”  I believe our hardened heart has brought Gods judgment upon us, 2 wars, Afghanistan, and Iraq, attack on the towers. Economic problems, etc.I am fortunate , to be working with a people with open hearts. Amen.
Always carry tracts, always pass them out, at the grocery store, the gas station.  If you develop it into a habit, like it is you responsibility, it is easier to do.
What is my responsibility?
What is the command the Lord Jesus gave us?Mark 16:15  “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.”I believe every church has a responsibility of knocking on every door in their town, at least once, and trying to give the occupant the truth.  There are many good Pastors who do this every year.  There are many good churches who work through their town block by block, house to house, every week.  Acts 5:42  “And daily in the temple, and in every house, they ceased not to teach and preach Jesus Christ.”  Publicly and systematically believers and churches are to try to preach the truth to every creature.  My home church in Long Beach California supports about 350 missionaries, to every corner of the globe.  We want to please the Lord and obey Him.  The only way I can be sure to reach every person, is to not only go house to house, but also, handing out tracts and witnessing publicly.  Then at the Great White throne Judgment, the Lord can call me up as a witness and say.. “He went to your door, he gave you a tract.” !
In Acts 20:20, Paul said  “And how I kept back nothing that was profitable unto you, but have shewed you, and have taught you publickly, and from house to house,”
Special note:I am an Evangelist.  In these days, that title is misused a lot.  People think that a man that goes from church to church an preaches is an Evangelist. There are many fine preachers, who do this, and they are a big help to many churches.But, the primary calling and ministry of an Evangelist is to “spread the gospel” to the lost, and especially to new areas that have not been reachedDo you still believe the bible is the final authority, then please look at the only example we have of an Evangelist.  Philip:
Acts 8:5 5  Then Philip went down to the city of Samaria, and preached Christ unto them. 6  And the people with one accord gave heed unto those things which Philip spake, hearing and seeing the miracles which he did. 7  For unclean spirits, crying with loud voice, came out of many that were possessed with them: and many taken with palsies, and that were lame, were healed. 8  And there was great joy in that city.”
What did he do, he went to a gentile city and evangelized.
Acts 8:34  “And the eunuch answered Philip, and said, I pray thee, of whom speaketh the prophet this? of himself, or of some other man?35  Then Philip opened his mouth, and began at the same scripture, and preached unto him Jesus. 36  And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized? 37  And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God. 38  And he commanded the chariot to stand still: and they went down both into the water, both Philip and the eunuch; and he baptized him.39  And when they were come up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord caught away Philip, that the eunuch saw him no more: and he went on his way rejoicing. 40  But Philip was found at Azotus: and passing through he preached in all the cities, till he came to Caesarea.”
Some Thoughts on this:
I am an Evangelist, who has gone door to door spreading the gospel for 30 years. God really does want every creature to hear the truth.  That is the main job of an Evangelist.  Without the seeds of the word of God being sown and that bear fruit, planted by someone, the Pastor does not have believers to form a church.  Yes, he can plant sow and reap, but thank God if you are an Evangelist, AND win souls and spread the gospel;.Sorry, I do not sing, sorry, I do not play an instrument, hold marriage conferences , etc.  (I am for all this) but I am a pure evangelist, spreading the gospel.

And..
Since we have the scriptures right here, let me hit this subject.If someone just got saved, and is sure of their salvation, tell them, or invite them to church to get baptized right away.  I got baptized the next Sunday. In verse 38 of Acts 8, the Ethiopian Eunuch got saved, and baptized, immediately. He did not attend a baptism class.  Of course, if he needs a little instruction, show him the verses that deal with his questions.  I write this to refute a practice I have noticed in Brazil, people get saved, and the church waits for a year to baptize them.  That is not biblical. I was in a church where about 2-3 converts that had waited 6 months got baptized, and I counted 8 different cameras taking pictures, almost like a catechism.  Baptizing converts should be a weekly occurrence. At Least the people should try for converts every week.  I know those from a Catholic background have been taught wrong about baptism, well, how long does it take to teach them the truth.. a week, maybe. 20 minutes?  Lets teach and practice the truth.
Attitude about soul winning…
Every person you see is already born condemned, because of Adam’s sin.  The sin nature is passed down through the blood line from Adam .. to your children. The only one who ever has been able to break this chain of condemnation is Jesus Christ. That is why He was born of a virgin, He did not inherit a sin nature. His blood came from God His Heavenly Father. He never sinned in thought or action all His life, so He could give His body and blood as a pure sacrifice as payment for the sins of the whole world, once and for all.     Since the souls of men are eternal, and they are going to Hell forever, if they do not get born again, then what could be more important than being a soul winner and telling them the gospel news,  saving them from Hell.  We already have eternal life. Jesus just asks us to “give our bodies as a living sacrifice” (Romans 12:1), to deny ourselves, for a few short years.  (very short , compared to eternity), AND, everything we do for Christ gets a reward, and earns us our position in the future millennial kingdom, and then also, after that.      You have heard people at a funeral say “He has gone on to his reward” ,  Only if he did some work, brother!  No work, no pay! What are you doing to save folks from Hell.  Jesus could have done or been anything while He was here, but He chose to be a traveling itinerant Evangelist that “came to seek and to save that which was lost.”
What is your attitude about sacrifice, for God’s kingdom? Of your time, of your possessions, of your life?  You are working NOW for the position you will have in the future kingdom of God.
Excuses..
You may say.. But I am not called to be an Evangelist. Maybe not.. but you are commanded to reach every creature with the truth.  Your Lord and Master told you to go into all the world and make disciples.  You do not have to be a full time worker.  Charlotte Monsano was a handicapped lady with a twisted body that had trouble breathing, who had to get around in a wheel chair.  Yet she would be going up and down El Cajon Blvd. in San Diego witnessing and passing out tracts.Do what you can! I have a bad knee. If I do  not take ibuprofen every day, I limp.  But thank God He helps me walk up and down very steep hills here in Brazil every day, for years.  Amen.Don’t look for excuses NOT to be a soul winner, look for excuses to go soul winning.       But.. I do not know a lot of bible.  Well if you start telling what you do know, you will quickly learn more.  Give your testimony.  Just tell someone how you got saved.  If you are saved, then tell them what you did.  The woman at the well in John Chapter 4 did not know very much bible, but she went and told all she could about the Lord , right after she got saved. Let us look at the Master as he wins this lady to Himself.I will comment as we go along.
The Woman at the Well
John 4:1 “When therefore the Lord knew how the Pharisees had heard that Jesus made and baptized more disciples than John,2  (Though Jesus himself baptized not, but his disciples,)3  He left Judaea, and departed again into Galilee.{Jesus walked everywhere He went.  I have found that you reach many more people by walking, especially in poorer countries , where they have no cars.  If you drive a vehicle, you tend to isolate yourself and miss many you could be witnessing to on the street}4  And he must needs go through Samaria.{Most Jews “went around Samaria” because they were half breed Jews, and practiced a different form of worship.  Our Lord was a Missionary and dealt with the culture differences.}5  Then cometh he to a city of Samaria, which is called Sychar, near to the parcel of ground that Jacob gave to his son Joseph.6  Now Jacob’s well was there. Jesus therefore, being wearied with his journey, sat thus on the well: and it was about the sixth hour.{Here we see Jesus in His humanity, he was 100 % man, AND at the same time 100% God, He was tired.  Many times out soul winning, I sit down and rest and drink some water or eat something to get some more energy.}7  There cometh a woman of Samaria to draw water: Jesus saith unto her, Give me to drink.8  (For his disciples were gone away unto the city to buy meat.)9  Then saith the woman of Samaria unto him, How is it that thou, being a Jew, askest drink of me, which am a woman of Samaria? for the Jews have no dealings with the Samaritans.{She tries to start an argument, or is a little startled that this Jewish man was not shunning her, but asking her for a drink.  She was not being treated as an outcast, but as an equal.}10  Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water.{Jesus got her interested by telling her a spiritual truth, she was puzzled over.}11  The woman saith unto him, Sir, thou hast nothing to draw with, and the well is deep: from whence then hast thou that living water?12  Art thou greater than our father Jacob, which gave us the well, and drank thereof himself, and his children, and his cattle?13  Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:14  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.{He sees if she is interested in spiritual things, he mentions Eternal Life, and He makes her think, “Who am I speaking too?  Who is this man?” Often, when I start witnessing to a person, I pay close attention to see how much they are interested.  If they are not interested, and just act friendly, then I leave them with some truth, a good tract, and go to look for someone who is interested.}15  The woman saith unto him, Sir, give me this water, that I thirst not, neither come hither to draw.16  Jesus saith unto her, Go, call thy husband, and come hither.{The woman says, I want what you have, even though she is not sure what it is.  then Jesus deals with her sin.  Since He is god and knows all, He does not need to poke around and show her all the 10 commandments, He deals with her adultery.. “Go call your husband.”}17  The woman answered and said, I have no husband. Jesus said unto her, Thou hast well said, I have no husband:18  For thou hast had five husbands; and he whom thou now hast is not thy husband: in that saidst thou truly.{AS the story progresses, Jesus gets into her heart more and more, and shows who He really is.. wow, this woman thinks , how does he know how many husbands I have had, how does he know I am living with a man, but not married?}19  The woman saith unto him, Sir, I perceive that thou art a prophet.20  Our fathers worshipped in this mountain; and ye say, that in Jerusalem is the place where men ought to worship.{She realizes He is very different, some kind of Man of God, but she still is thinking about her religion, and comparing it with what she thinks He believes.}21  Jesus saith unto her, Woman, believe me, the hour cometh, when ye shall neither in this mountain, nor yet at Jerusalem, worship the Father.22  Ye worship ye know not what: we know what we worship: for salvation is of the Jews.23  But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him.24  God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.{Jesus lays out the truth, what will she do with it?  It does not matter if you are a Samaritan, you can know the True God also.}25  The woman saith unto him, I know that Messias cometh, which is called Christ: when he is come, he will tell us all things.26  Jesus saith unto her, I that speak unto thee am he.{To this “Pagan” Samaritan woman, Jesus plainly tells her “I am the Messiah” He did not do it so plainly to so many others, especially the Pharisees.}27 ¶  And upon this came his disciples, and marvelled that he talked with the woman: yet no man said, What seekest thou? or, Why talkest thou with her?28  The woman then left her waterpot, and went her way into the city, and saith to the men,29  Come, see a man, which told me all things that ever I did: is not this the Christ?{she puts her faith in Christ, and forgets about getting water out of the well, she starts telling others what happened to her.}30  Then they went out of the city, and came unto him.31  In the mean while his disciples prayed him, saying, Master, eat.32  But he said unto them, I have meat to eat that ye know not of.33  Therefore said the disciples one to another, Hath any man brought him ought to eat?34  Jesus saith unto them, My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work.35  Say not ye, There are yet four months, and then cometh harvest? behold, I say unto you, Lift up your eyes, and look on the fields; for they are white already to harvest.{Jesus saw souls dying and going to Hell, everywhere He went.  He came to seek and save the lost. That is the job of every Christian.}36  And he that reapeth receiveth wages, and gathereth fruit unto life eternal: that both he that soweth and he that reapeth may rejoice together.37  And herein is that saying true, One soweth, and another reapeth.38  I sent you to reap that whereon ye bestowed no labour: other men laboured, and ye are entered into their labours.{Soul winning is planting the seed of the gospel, watering it, and sometimes, getting to reap – leading a soul to Christ. Some times I reap a soul that someone else prayed for and dealt with faithfully many years.  We shared in the labor. I am waiting for that big, great payday, the judgment seat of Christ.  If God gives a reward for giving a glass of water in the name of Christ, how much is a soul pulled out of the fire worth..?!  Daniel 12:3 is a precious promise for this. Is there any other work any greater?}39  And many of the Samaritans of that city believed on him for the saying of the woman,  {When a person gets saved, they want to talk about Jesus!} ..which testified, He told me all that ever I did.40  So when the Samaritans were come unto him, they besought him that he would tarry with them: and he abode there two days.41  And many more believed because of his own word;42  And said unto the woman, Now we believe, not because of thy saying: for we have heard him ourselves, and know that this is indeed the Christ, the Saviour of the world.”
Obstacles..
If you are giving out the truth to a lost world, you will have opposition from sinful men, who do not like the Light.  They like their darkness.  The devil will stir up opposition.  Carnal Christians who are doing nothing for the Lord, and in fact are a bad testimony, will oppose you.  “Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.”  Philippians 3:19      If you get the truth across , some will get mad. they will gossip about you and stand up for their “religion”.  Remember what they said about Jesus?  “And many of them said, He hath a devil, and is mad; why hear ye him?” John 10:20  Gossip is almost as powerful as murder.  I have had people “kill my reputation” with slander and gossip.  Which caused people to misjudge me, and once in Brazil, plan to attack me.  All because of a gossiping woman.  Even in the Lord’s  Church’s this is a problem. Thank God for a Pastor and family who are discreet and prudent and can control their tongues.
A real Evangelist, like Philip, will be spreading the gospel, preferably to new territories that need it. this means much of my ministry depends on good health.  I walk for 2-3 hours a day, in good weather, in bad, like a mailman.  I go up and down steep hills sometimes. If I am injured, I am hindered.  I have had injuries before, to my back, my knees, my ankles.  Just keep going the best you can.  Remember the list Paul gave us.2 Corinthians 11:23  “Are they ministers of Christ? (I speak as a fool) I am more; in labours more abundant, in stripes above measure, in prisons more frequent, in deaths oft.24  Of the Jews five times received I forty stripes save one.25  Thrice was I beaten with rods, once was I stoned, thrice I suffered shipwreck, a night and a day I have been in the deep;26  In journeyings often, in perils of waters, in perils of robbers, in perils by mine own countrymen, in perils by the heathen, in perils in the city, in perils in the wilderness, in perils in the sea, in perils among false brethren;27  In weariness and painfulness, in watchings often, in hunger and thirst, in fastings often, in cold and nakedness.28  Beside those things that are without, that which cometh upon me daily, the care of all the churches.”
Dogs..?   Beware of dogs,.. Phil. 3:2
I believe Paul was using a slang term the Jews used for gentiles that opposed him, and also warning or the furry dogs that bark furiously.
In 31 years so far, I have only been bitten, where it drew blood, 1 time.  In Barrio Zanalato in Brazil.  As I put a tract a in a mailbox, a little dog bit my hand.  I have had my trousers punctured about 3 times.  That is pretty good when you consider that I was in Mexico for 8 years and have been in Brazil for over 4 years (as of 2011)In Mexico, many dogs roam the streets, and when you approach their territory, they start defending it.  But.. many are not locked up. so I had to take a rock with me, and when I have a problem, start tossing it up in the air, saying..  No, No, you don’t want to do that. When they see the rock, or me pick one up, they back off.  I almost never have had to throw one at them.  I will probably be back, and don’t want them to remember me as an enemy.  In Brazil, almost everyone has a dog, but  behind a good fence, Amen!  You have the little Chihuahuas that are like little rats, and can only bark, you have the big Rottwiellers, they crash the fence, you have mean mongrels. You have the ones that bark furiously as they go in circles.  You have the jumping pit bulls, trying to see over the wall, you have little puppies that just want attention.  You have the smart German shepherds that stare quietly at you, all kinds.  I will be in a neighborhood early on a Saturday morning, and have 5 sets of dogs barking for all they are worth.  It’s part of the job.  You have to put up with it. I have to time it right to put a tract in a mailbox, so I don’t get bitten, as 2-3 dogs fight over whose turn is it to try to bite me.  Once, as I approached a mailbox, I looked up, and was startled to see a big brown Pit-bull just staring at me.  He was against a fence in a yard overlooking the mailbox. As I approached, he pushed the fence and the bottom came out. Smart.  He was warning me.  He could jump on me if he wanted to.  I decided to go to the next house.  I was startled last week when a brown pit-bull suddenly lunged at me from the bushes as I attempted to put a gospel tract in a mailbox because no one was home. Think of those places in the world where the Christians go “Hold the dog” (Soul winning)  They have no fences even!

Later.. we will talk about having God’s power.. etc. (I can not do what I do without God doing it all, and having the power of the Holy Spirit.), keeping a clean heart, the joy of soul winning, etc
To be continued…

This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to Witness for Jesus – Common Sense

  1. Vera Tentyuk says:

    Thanks God for such a great message. Some of the words, or sentences that made a huge impact on me..

    “Our Bible is an amazing book. We will never get to the bottom of it.”…

    “…Since the souls of men are eternal…”

    “people read them when they have a quiet time”

    God Bless

  2. Johnd310 says:

    I truly prize your function, Wonderful post. kfcakaacckgd

Leave a Reply

