Guide me

Acts 8:31  And he said, How can I, except some man should guide me? And he desired Philip that he would come up and sit with him.

Lost sinners do not know they are lost, they do not know they are blind, they need a soul winner to guide them to Jesus.

On my trip home to spend time with my family, I asked the Lord to “guide me across the path of those open for the truth, hungry for the truth.  Let me tell you what happened.

I am an evangelist.  Nowadays, anybody and everybody claims to be “an Evangelist”.  What is a biblical evangelist?  It is a person especially gifted by the Holy Spirit to “spread the gospel”.  About Phillip the Evangelist, the bible writes in Acts 8:26 ¶  And the angel of the Lord spake unto Philip, saying, Arise, and go toward the south unto the way that goeth down from Jerusalem unto Gaza, which is desert.27  And he arose and went: and, behold, a man of Ethiopia, an eunuch of great authority under Candace queen of the Ethiopians, who had the charge of all her treasure, and had come to Jerusalem for to worship,28  Was returning, and sitting in his chariot read Esaias the prophet.29  Then the Spirit said unto Philip, Go near, and join thyself to this chariot.30  And Philip ran thither to him, and heard him read the prophet Esaias, and said, Understandest thou what thou readest?31  And he said, How can I, except some man should guide me? And he desired Philip that he would come up and sit with him.32  The place of the scripture which he read was this, He was led as a sheep to the slaughter; and like a lamb dumb before his shearer, so opened he not his mouth:33  In his humiliation his judgment was taken away: and who shall declare his generation? for his life is taken from the earth.34  And the eunuch answered Philip, and said, I pray thee, of whom speaketh the prophet this? of himself, or of some other man?35  Then Philip opened his mouth, and began at the same scripture, and preached unto him Jesus.36  And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized?37  And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God.38  And he commanded the chariot to stand still: and they went down both into the water, both Philip and the eunuch; and he baptized him.39  And when they were come up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord caught away Philip, that the eunuch saw him no more: and he went on his way rejoicing.40  But Philip was found at Azotus: and passing through he preached in all the cities, till he came to Caesarea.”

That is what an Evangelist does. A preacher or Christian who is not a soul winner is not an Evangelist.  They may preach sermons that help the church, they may sing beautiful music, but if they do not spread the gospel to the lost, they are not an Evangelist.  And may I say this, an Evangelist is different from a missionary. I will talk about this some other time though.  They have different jobs.

Evangelists are not supposed to stay in one place, and they “fly” a lot.  Amen!  Phillip had “Angel travel service” and tickets were free. So far I have flown over 140,000 miles to Brazil and back.  the Lord always gives me the money for the tickets, Amen.  I want God to guide me to people to talk to about the Lord, people who are open to the Word of God. A sower of the Word, plants, waters and grows, but God saves the soul.

1 Corinthians 3:5 ¶  Who then is Paul, and who is Apollos, but ministers by whom ye believed, even as the Lord gave to every man?
6  I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.
7  So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase.”
I am very afraid, very leery of people always exalt the name of a well-known Christian.  They always talk about “Dr. so-and=so, etc.”  No they are only ministers , they are nothing, I am nothing, God is everything! Amen.  I think these kind of folks might have a problem with idolatry, they talk about another preacher some times more than they talk about Jesus, be careful.
God knew this very important Ethiopian was looking for the truth, and guided his man across his path.  I am very careful when I am dealing with someone, I do not want to “get another notch on my belt”, but have something real happen.  You have to find out where people are in their spiritual journey.  If they joke about “Is there a Heaven”, or “this earth is Hell”, then they are not ready to be saved.  I have relatives going to Hell because someone dealt with their eternal souls in a salesmanship kind of way.  Be thorough, have discernment, pray for wisdom.  What I mean is this, I have a father-in-law and a brother-in-law who were dealt with “led to the Lord” and baptized by an Evangelist friend of mine many years ago.  They never had a changed life.  they show no fruits of salvation, for 20 years now.  Maybe he did what was right with the scriptures, and they were not sincere, but just be thorough.  I tell a person I lead to the Lord, “If you get savede there will be a change in your life.” That is what “born again” means.
I started at the Florianopolis airport.  I entered the waiting lounge and began to talk to a man sitting next to me. He spoke english, and works for a chinese company.  I dealt with his soul as best I could, and then he told me he would be in Los Angeles in October.  I said “Wow!”.  I am trying to get to my churches Mission Conference held 18 minutes from Los Angeles, in Long Beach, Oct. 20th. Wow. I gave him my phone # and e-mail.  Then I moved to another seat and began talking to a man who works for a geo-thermal company.  He took my tract but did not want to talk to me.  I then gave a tract to the man sitting on my left.  His name was Oscar and he is a lawyer for a big company.  When I gave him my testimony about getting saved, and saying I did not want to go to hell, he chuckled. I did what I could with him.  In Sao Paulo as I waited for 6 hours, I noticed a girl next to me two seat over reading in Japanese.  I tried to talk to her and found out she works selling clothes in Beira-Mar, near the sea, in Centro Florianopolis, near where I live.  I talked to her in Portuguese, because I know no Japanese!  I grew up in Gardena Calif., and my neighbors and friends were Japanese.  Also, I told her my mom graduated from High School in Japan, and when I was a Marine on the USS Coral Sea, we made a port call in Yokuska.  I gave her a Chick tract about the “Greatest Story Ever Told” in English. Most Japanese take english in school.  Her name was Tac.  Tokyo is the worlds largest city, and she lives near there.  I witnessed and talked to several more people, but spent a lot of time talking to a student graduating from college with a pharmacy major, she had studied at Cambridge England.  Very smart. She read the Chick tract I gave her.  She said “Well, we know something is out there.” indicating her spiritual knowledge of truth was near zero.  I witnessed to some Marines in Chicago, going to Camp Pendleton, and told them about our bus ministry on the base.  On the final flight of this grueling 30 hour trip to San Diego, I had several long conversations with a Marine on my right, and a budget consultant on my left.  The lady who is a budget consultant really seemed surprised and a little shocked when I told her about the 4 prayers I had answered in a row to be able to buy a ticket to go home for 6 weeks.  this makes God real and practical.  When I was waiting at baggage check, she was staring at me. I love it when the Lord uses me, that’s what I live for.  I missed my ride, and was able to get a man to drive me home to Escondido for $40.  It usually costs $125.  It took all my wife Linda’s money and mine to, but the reward was to get some home-made tacos and a big kiss.  Brother, there is no Mexican food in Brazil.  And I had not seen my wife in 4 months. It turns out that the van driver was a baby christian and struggling with sin, and lived close to the church I attend in Vista, Ca.  I hope he comes to church, we talked for 40 minutes.  Another “Divine Appointment!”
This entry was posted in English sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guide me

  1. Ana Paula (facebook's friend) says:

    Bro. Steve, I was very blessed reading your testimony.
    Realmente é muito prazeroso saber que Deus conta conosco e nos usa na sua grande obra. E como diz em Provérbios 11:30: Quem ganha almas, é sábio. Fico feliz que voce por pôde rever sua familia, e pelo suprimento financeiro que Deus tem mantido, e obrigada por compartilhar isso.

  2. Exactly where will you get this information and facts?

    • I am not sure what you are referring to, but all “information and facts” are from the eternal Word of God, as far as I know. The KJV 1611 bible in english is the final authority.

  3. Great info posted here. I hope I will get more info from you soon. I already bookmarked this webstite to my Favourite List.

Leave a Reply

